State Lost & Stolen Gun Reporting

Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms in Georgia

Posted on Monday, January 2nd, 2012

Georgia does not require firearm owners to report the loss or theft of a firearm.

See our Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms in Hawaii

Posted on Monday, January 2nd, 2012

Hawaii does not require firearm owners to report the loss or theft of a firearm.

See our Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms in Idaho

Posted on Monday, January 2nd, 2012

Idaho does not require firearms owners to report the loss or theft of a firearm.

See our Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms in Iowa

Posted on Monday, January 2nd, 2012

Iowa does not require gun owners to report the loss or theft of their firearms.

See our Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms policy summary   for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms in Kansas

Posted on Monday, January 2nd, 2012

Kansas does not require firearm owners to report the loss or theft of a firearm.

See our Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms in Louisiana

Posted on Monday, January 2nd, 2012

Louisiana has no law requiring firearm owners to report the loss or theft of a firearm.

See our Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms in Maryland

Posted on Monday, January 2nd, 2012

(Last updated August 8, 2013.)

Under Maryland law, a gun dealer must advise a purchaser or recipient at the time of transfer that the purchaser or recipient is required to report a lost or stolen regulated firearm to the proper local law enforcement agency.1

If a regulated firearm is lost or stolen, the owner must report the loss or theft to the local law enforcement agency within 72 hours after the owner first discovers the loss or theft.2

On receipt of a report of a lost or stolen regulated firearm, a local law enforcement agency must report to the Secretary of State Police and enter into the National Crime Information Center database, to the extent known, the caliber, make, model, manufacturer and serial number of the regulated firearm as well as any other distinguishing number or identification mark on the regulated firearm.3

For purposes of the above provisions, “regulated firearm” means a handgun or one of any specified models of assault weapons.4

Maryland provides as an exception to the prohibition on purchasing more than one handgun or assault weapon within a 30-day period the acquisition of another such firearm by a person who provides a copy of an official police report containing relevant information regarding the owner of the lost or stolen firearm and information regarding the gun and its loss or theft.5 See the Multiple Purchases & Sales of Firearms in Maryland section for additional information.

See our Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

  1. Md. Code Ann., Pub. Safety § 5-146(a). []
  2. Md. Code Ann., Pub. Safety § 5-146(b). []
  3. Md. Code Ann., Pub. Safety § 5-146(c). A first time violation of these provisions is a civil offense punishable by a fine of not more than $500.  A second or subsequent violation is a misdemeanor subject to 90 days imprisonment or a $500 fine, or both. []
  4. Md. Code Ann., Pub. Safety § 5-101(r). []
  5. See Md. Code Ann., Pub. Safety § 5-128(a)(8). []

Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms in Michigan

Posted on Monday, January 2nd, 2012

Any person who owns a firearm must, within five days after he or she knows his or her firearm is stolen, report the theft to a police agency having jurisdiction over that theft.1 Michigan does not require a gun owner who loses his or her firearm to report the loss to law enforcement.

See our Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

  1. Mich. Comp. Laws Serv. § 28.430(1). []

Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms in Minnesota

Posted on Monday, January 2nd, 2012

Minnesota does not require firearms owners to report the loss or theft of a firearm.

See our Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms in Mississippi

Posted on Monday, January 2nd, 2012

Mississippi does not require firearms owners to report the loss or theft of a firearm.

See our Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.