State Multiple Gun Purchases & Sales

Multiple Purchases & Sales of Firearms in Washington

Posted on Friday, December 19th, 2014

Washington has no law restricting sales or purchases of multiple firearms.

See our Restrictions on Multiple Purchases or Sales of Firearms policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

Multiple Purchases & Sales of Firearms in Illinois

Posted on Thursday, October 9th, 2014

Illinois has no law restricting sales or purchases of multiple firearms.

See our Multiple Purchases & Sales of Firearms policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

Multiple Purchases & Sales of Firearms in Massachusetts

Posted on Friday, October 3rd, 2014

Massachusetts has no law restricting sales or purchases of multiple firearms.

See Restrictions on Multiple Purchases or Sales of Firearms for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

 


Multiple Purchases & Sales of Firearms in Delaware

Posted on Friday, October 3rd, 2014

Delaware does not impose restrictions on purchases or sales of multiple firearms.

See our Restrictions on Multiple Purchases or Sales of Firearms policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

Multiple Purchases & Sales of Firearms in New Jersey

Posted on Monday, September 29th, 2014

New Jersey prohibits licensed retail firearms dealers from knowingly delivering more than one handgun to any person within any 30-day period.1 Moreover, a person may purchase no more than one handgun within any 30-day period.2

See our Multiple Purchases & Sales of Firearms policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

  1. N.J. Stat. Ann. § 2C:58-2a(7). []
  2. N.J. Stat. Ann. § 2C:58-3i. The Superintendent of the New Jersey State Police may grant an exemption from this purchaser restriction if the applicant satisfactorily demonstrates that he or she: 1) obtained the handguns through inheritance or intestacy; 2) is a demonstrated collector of handguns; or 3) participates in handgun shooting competitions and needs multiple handguns for such competitive activities. N.J. Stat. Ann. § 2C:58-3.4a. []

Multiple Purchases & Sales of Firearms in Alabama

Posted on Tuesday, January 3rd, 2012

Alabama has no law restricting sales or purchases of multiple firearms.

See our Restrictions on Multiple Purchases or Sales of Firearms policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

Multiple Purchases & Sales of Firearms in Alaska

Posted on Tuesday, January 3rd, 2012

Alaska has no law restricting sales or purchases of multiple firearms.

See our Restrictions on Multiple Purchases or Sales of Firearms policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

Multiple Purchases & Sales of Firearms in Arizona

Posted on Tuesday, January 3rd, 2012

Arizona has no law restricting sales or purchases of multiple firearms.

See our Multiple Purchases & Sales of Firearms Policy Summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

Multiple Purchases & Sales of Firearms in Arkansas

Posted on Monday, January 2nd, 2012

Arkansas has no law restricting sales or purchases of multiple firearms.

See our Restrictions on Multiple Purchases or Sales of Firearms policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

Multiple Purchases & Sales of Firearms in California

Posted on Monday, January 2nd, 2012

See our Multiple Purchases or Sales of Firearms policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

California law prohibits the purchase of more than one handgun within any 30-day period.1 Also, licensed firearms dealers may not deliver a handgun to anyone following notification from the California Department of Justice that the purchaser has applied to acquire another handgun within the preceding 30-day period.2 These restrictions do not apply to firearm transactions between private parties, even when those transactions are processed as required through a licensed dealer.3

Firearms dealers are required to post conspicuously in their licensed premises a warning, in block letters at least one inch in height, that notifies potential purchasers of the prohibitions on applications to purchase and dealer delivery of multiple handguns within any 30-day period.4

  1. Cal. Penal Code § 27535. []
  2. Cal. Penal Code § 27540. []
  3. Cal. Penal Code § 27535. []
  4. Cal. Penal Code § 26835. []