See our Carrying Concealed Weapons policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

Alaska does not require a permit to carry a concealed firearm. On June 11, 2003, the Governor of Alaska signed legislation amending Alaska law to allow anyone age 21 or older who may legally possess a firearm to carry a concealed firearm without having to obtain a permit.

Alaska still retained its permitting system for those who want reciprocity with other states, or those who seek to be exempt from background checks when purchasing additional firearms. For those seeking a permit, Alaska is considered a “shall issue” state, meaning that the Alaska Department of Public Safety (“Department”) must issue a permit to carry a concealed handgun if the applicant meets certain qualifications.1 The basic qualifications to obtain a permit require that an applicant:

  • Be at least 21 years of age;
  • Be eligible to own or possess a handgun under state and federal law;
  • Have been a resident of Alaska for the preceding 90 days;
  • Not have been convicted of two or more class A misdemeanors (or similar laws in another jurisdiction) within the preceding six years;
  • Not currently be in, nor in the preceding three years been ordered by a court to complete, an alcohol or substance abuse treatment program; and
  • Has successfully completed a handgun training course.2

A municipality may not restrict the carrying of a concealed handgun by permit issued in accordance with Alaska law.3

Firearm Safety Training

Alaska law requires each applicant for a permit to carry a concealed handgun to demonstrate competence with a handgun through successful completion of a course and receipt of a certificate.4

Duration & Renewal

Under Alaska’s concealed handgun permitting process, a permit expires “on the person’s birthday in the fifth year following issuance of the permit.” The department may adjust the length of an initial permit so that a permit is not issued for a period of more than five years.5

Disclosure or Use of Information

Alaska does not allow the application, permit or renewal information of concealed handgun permit holders to be made public.6 Such records may only be used for law enforcement purposes.7

Reciprocity

A person holding a valid permit to carry a concealed handgun from another state or a political subdivision of another state is considered a permittee under Alaska law.8 The Alaska Department of Public Safety is required to enter into reciprocity agreements with other states that have the legal authority to enter into such agreements so permittees may carry concealed handguns in those other states.9

For a list of states that recognize valid Alaska concealed handgun permits, see the Alaska Department of Public Safety’s concealed handgun reciprocity page.

 

Notes
  1. Alaska Stat. § 18.65.700(a). ⤴︎
  2. Alaska Stat. § 18.65.705. ⤴︎
  3. Alaska Stat. § 18.65.778. ⤴︎
  4. Alaska Stat. § 18.65.705 (referencing section 18.65.715). For additional application and background check requirements for a permit, as well as permit suspension and disqualification information, see Alaska Stat. §§ 18.65.700(a)(1)–(4), (6)–(9), 118.65.710, 18.65.720, 18.65.735 and 18.65.740. ⤴︎
  5. Alaska Stat. § 18.65.700(d). Permittees are required to apply for renewal within 90 days of the permit’s expiration date. Alaska Stat. § 18.65.725(a). ⤴︎
  6. Alaska Stat. § 18.65.770. ⤴︎
  7. Id. ⤴︎
  8. Alaska Stat. § 18.65.748. ⤴︎
  9. Alaska Stat. § 18.65.775(b). ⤴︎