No person under age 18 may knowingly possess a handgun unless he or she is:

  • Participating in a hunter’s or a firearms safety course;
  • At a lawful shooting range or organized competition;
  • Hunting or trapping, when licensed to do so;
  • Traveling with an unloaded handgun to or from the aforementioned activities;
  • On private property under the control of an adult who has granted permission to the underage individual to possess a handgun; or
  • Using a handgun to defend himself or herself from imminent danger.1

An applicant for a license to carry a concealed handgun must be 21 years of age or older.2

Mississippi prohibits the transfer of: 1) any deadly weapon; 2) any weapon that may not by law be carried concealed; and 3) a pistol cartridge, to any person who is under 18 years of age.3

There is no minimum age to possess a rifle or shotgun in Mississippi.

See our Minimum Age to Purchase / Possess Firearms policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

Notes
  1. Miss. Code Ann. § 97-37-14. ⤴︎
  2. Miss. Code Ann. § 45-9-101(2)(b). ⤴︎
  3. Miss. Code Ann. § 97-37-13. ⤴︎