Retention of Sales & Background Check Records in Utah

Posted on January 1, 2012

Utah prohibits the Bureau of Criminal Identification (“BCI”) within the Department of Public Safety, which performs criminal history background checks before firearm transfers, from maintaining any records of a background check for longer than 20 days from the date of the dealer’s request for the background check, if BCI determines that the individual receiving the firearm is not prohibited from purchasing, possessing, or transferring the firearm under state or federal law.1 However, BCI is required to maintain a log of requests containing the dealer’s federal firearms number, the transaction number, and the transaction date for a period of 12 months.2

Utah does not have any laws requiring dealers to retain firearm sales records.

See our Retention of Firearm Sales and Background Check Records policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

  1. Utah Code Ann. § 76-10-526(8)(a). []
  2. Utah Code Ann. § 76-10-526(8)(b). []