Former US Attorney General Eric Holder

June 27, 2017
The Fairmont Hotel
San Francisco
6 pm Reception  |  7 pm Dinner


TwentyFour 300x400

Each year, the Law Center’s Anniversary Dinner brings together our community to honor the exceptional efforts of a few key individuals for their outstanding leadership in the gun violence prevention movement. The dinner, with an audience of 500–700 attorneys, business professionals, lawmakers, and advocates from all over the country, is a truly unique opportunity to recognize the movement’s champions, celebrate the Law Center’s remarkable achievements, and support the fight for smart gun laws that save lives.

2017 Courageous Leadership Award
The Honorable Eric Holder

Holder_Headshot gray_630x882The Law Center is proud to honor former US Attorney General Eric Holder with our 2017 Courageous Leadership Award. Under his guidance, the Justice Department implemented many of President Obama’s executive actions on guns that followed in the wake of the Sandy Hook massacre. In recent years he has been an outspoken and insightful advocate for the legislative and community-based solutions to the epidemic of gun violence our nation faces.

Mr. Holder served as Attorney General from February 2009 to April 2015. As the third longest serving Attorney General in US history and the first African American to hold that office, Mr. Holder is an internationally recognized leader across a broad range of regulatory enforcement, criminal justice, and national security issues. In 2014, Time named Mr. Holder to its list of 100 Most Influential People, noting that he had “worked tirelessly to ensure equal justice.” Including his tenure as Attorney General, Mr. Holder has served in government for more than 30 years, having been appointed to various positions requiring US Senate confirmation by Presidents Obama, Clinton, and Reagan.

Mr. Holder returned to the law firm of Covington & Burling after his service as Attorney General. He advises clients on complex investigations and litigation matters, including those that are international in scope and involve significant regulatory enforcement issues and substantial reputational concerns.

Pam & Tom Bosley

Pam and Tom Bosley are the cofounders of Purpose Over Pain, an advocacy and support group for parents who’ve lost children to gun violence in Chicago. Their son, Terrell Bosley, was shot and killed after band practice outside of his church on the south side of Chicago in 2006.

In the wake of this senseless tragedy, Pam and Tom have become outspoken and committed advocates for the commonsense solutions to gun violence that can end this crisis in Chicago and across the country. Their organization creates a space for other parents who’ve lost children to gun violence to both grieve and get involved. The Law Center is proud to honor Pam and Tom with our 2017 Lifesaving Service Award for their years of activism and dedication to the fight for gun safety.

Paul, Weiss

PW Logo WhiteLaw firm Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP is the recipient of the Law Center’s 2017 Richard W. Odgers Pro Bono Partner Award, in recognition of the quintessential role they have played in creating the Firearms Accountability Counsel Taskforce (FACT), a bold new partnership between the private bar and the gun violence prevention movement to hold the gun industry accountable.

Richard W. Odgers Pro Bono Partner Award

Richard W. “Dick” Odgers (1936–2014) was a beloved founder, supporter, and friend to the Law Center. He helped found the organization after the 101 California Street shooting and served as the organization’s first president, staying active on the board for 16 years. In 2015, we renamed our annual pro bono partner award after Odgers, paying tribute to his remarkable legacy as an attorney and champion of smart gun laws.


Our work is only possible thanks to the generous support of our Anniversary Dinner sponsors. Each contribution from these organizations and individuals have a tangible impact on our strength and success, and we’re deeply grateful to them for joining us for this year’s event.

Learn more about sponsor levels and benefits.


Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP


Keker, Van Nest & Peters LLP
Lieff Cabraser Heimann & Bernstein, LLP
Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP


Farella Braun + Martel LLP
Jones Day


Hemming Morse LLP
Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP
Morrison & Foerster LLP/The Morrison & Foerster Foundation
Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP
Sheppard, Mullin, Richter, & Hampton, LLP


Bartko, Zankel, Bunzel & Miller
Covington & Burling LLP
James T. Fousekis
Kilpatrick Towsend & Stockton LLP
Anthony Malutta & Shoshana Chazan
O’Melveny & Myers LLP
Jonathan Powers


BraunHagey & Borden LLP
Bryan Cave LLP
Linda Cronin & Owen Clements
Alexis Coll-Very and Lance Very
The Feeney & Heisse Families
Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP
Hanson Bridgett LLP
Kirkland & Ellis LLP
Megin C. Scully & Reed Minuth
Richards, Watson & Gershon
Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati Foundation


Lilli I. Alberga & Laurence Bardoff
Paul and Helen Chapman
Coblentz Patch Duffy & Bass LLP
Ben Cushman & George Tuttle Fund
DrinkerBiddle & Reath LLP
David & Linda Kapnick
Sacks Ricketts & Case LLP
Shartsis Friese LLP


Adler & Colvin
Family Law Offices of Carol A. Gorenberg
Hosie Rice LLP
Carol Kingsley, in loving memory of Jack Berman
Rogers Joseph O’Donnell
David Roth and Anita Price
Somach Simmons & Dunn
Jeanna Steele